Rugby Union

Olympic Sports
FeaturedIntroTemplate_Rugby - Action Images 1643107.jpg

National governing body (NGB)

Rugby Football Union

Male England rugby players are nominated to SportsAid by the Rugby Football Union (RFU) at Under-18s, Under-16s (A) or Under-16s level. Female England rugby players nominated to SportsAid by the RFU are Under-20s and sevens Under-18s Development players. The RFU prioritises non-TASS funded Under-20s team players - as well as the most promising Under-18s girls.

You can read further criteria here.

The nomination process

SportsAid only supports unfunded athletes who are nominated by their sport's national governing body. This ensures the right athletes get the right help at the right time - enhancing the sports' talent development programmes rather than duplicating them. Nominations take place every autumn.

You should contact your sport about whether you meet the criteria for the next round of SportsAid awards. Meeting the nomination criteria does not necessarily guarantee a SportsAid award because the charity can only distribute what it has fundraised.